Italian Chicken Ballotine

The Finish

Sometimes I miss cooking seriously.  And sometimes I am compelled to cook ‘Cheffy’ plates at home so I don’t forget how it feels to bring them together.  I’m nervous about letting any memories or skills that I’ve developed just wash away from lack of use.  Don’t get me wrong.  I’m still cooking all the time, but… let’s just say that I’m not always cooking challenging plates.  They are delicious, but they are not technically difficult to pull off.

This dinner was a little more technical, and thankfully, it was also delicious.  Find the story in pictures below  –

For those of you curious about trying your own ballotine, here’s a link to a demonstration video which is pretty well done.  At least it shows how to get the skin off in one piece, which is the hard part.  How you decide to stuff (or not), season, and roast (or poach) is up to you.  Eating like this is very satisfying.  It is like having a little Thanksgiving dinner, without too much fuss.  If you want to try this at home and have questions, feel free to email, and we’ll get the ball rolling!

Enjoy yourselves and each other –

-Scott 

Leave a Reply

