Pork Sausage Cake…Muffins?

My Dad’s side of the family lived in or near Howells, Nebraska, and this little gem found its way into my cookbook library a few years ago.  Three nights ago, my housemate and I leafed through it with some amazement and a few quizzical expressions .  Nevertheless, this recipe stood out as my first (and right now, top) experiment pick:

Story in pictures below:

What a freaking trip!  And everybody has LOVED them – Totally recommend.  More from the Centennial cookbook later –

Be well, and eat good work –

-Scotty

Here’s the recipe verbatim.  I took some liberties which are in parenthesis.  Enjoy!

Pork Sausage Cake

1 c. raisins

1 lb. mild pork sausage

1 ½ c. sifted flour (I didn’t sift)

1 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. cinnamon (*for all spices, I used half as much, but ground it fresh)

1 tsp. allspice*

1 c. evaporated milk

2 c. sugar

2 eggs

1 tsp. baking powder (I left this out entirely)

1 tsp. cloves *

1 tsp. nutmeg *

½ tsp. salt

1 c. chopped nuts (I used walnuts)

Steam raisins to plump. (I covered with hot tap water)  Set aside to cool.  Cream sugar and pork sausage.  Add eggs and beat thoroughly.  Sift flour, baking powder, soda, spices and salt together. (I just put them all in a bowl and stirred it up with my fork)  Add sifted [sic] dry ingredients alternately with milk to creamed mixture.  Beat 2 minutes. (I beat until things looked incorporated; like 20-30 seconds)  Fold in chopped nuts and plumped (drained) raisins.  Turn into tube pan that has been well-greased.  Bake at 350 60-70 (muffins took like 25 min, cake; 45-50) minutes or until done (I took the internal temperature at 180 as a sign of ‘done’).  Let cool 30 minutes before turning out of pane.  Drizzle with powdered sugar glaze while warm. (not for me, sweet enough as is)

Christa Baumert

xo (emphasis added)


2 comments on “Pork Sausage Cake…Muffins?

  1. John C. says:

    I often think many of these local recipes are hidden treasures. This sounds like a great treat. What is the heritage of your gma?

    • swfoodworks says:

      I totally agree. There’s some awesome stuff in those pages. And even if it isn’t ‘awesome’ it is a least interesting and there is social-anthropological value that is worth investigating. At least for me – Grandma Prusa is English, German and French (if I remember right). Prusa is Polish? Czech? That’s my second Grandfather’s name.

Leave a Reply

