Tossed Salad, Tossed Recipe –

My housemates are putting themselves through several weekends of permaculture classwork.  This week, it’s our turn to bring treats.  I volunteered whip this up for the group after one housemate picked out a recipe that spoke to her.  I’m not sure where the motivation for the following salad recipe came from, but nevertheless, the outline ended up in my hands.  Let’s see where we took it…

epicurious?

epicurious?

Special Ingredients / Shopping – All of the ingredients were items that we either had on hand, or could be found really easily at our local market.  How about that!  So no special order or big ticket items tonight.

Menu (recipe) –  Smoked Turkey Salad with Hazelnuts and Bing Cherries –

Results –  I’m not sure if I have to blame the sixth cup of coffee, or if the recipe author can take some credit, but nothing I was reading made any sense to me.  So, like ya do, I just kind of chucked the recipe(s), and put together an approximation of what the recipe seemed to be hinting at.  I mean, c’mon, it’s just lunch.  We’re not curing cancer here.

PICT0031

My only curveball came when one of my housemates returned from eight hours(!) of permaculture class to suggest that I make a least half of the lunch into vegetarian fare.  Not a big stretch considering we were going for salad (a pretty vegetable heavy dish) to start with.  Luckily we had more than a half dozen eggs in the Kenmore, so I whipped together a gingery egg salad option.  I hope we’re talking ovo-lacto vegetarians

Success – I think we did alright by the recipe, and the end product had spirit.  Here’s what we’ll serve the

August 2nd San Francisco Permaculture Hullabaloo

-Smoked Turkey and Tomato Pesto Salad or Ginger-Fennel Egg Salad  with Mesclun Greens, Plum Vinaigrette, Toasted Nuts, and Bing Cherries-  Good Fresh Bread at Your Leisure –

Thanks for reading, kill your recipes –

-Scotty

4 comments on “Tossed Salad, Tossed Recipe –

  1. Kay Curry says:

    Gotta comment on this one. Those were big salads, and there was nothing left to take home, even though there’d been a scheduling snafu and we had double the amount of food that we should have had. Way to go, Scott! Although I would have enjoyed the leftovers …

  2. swfoodworks says:

    Yay! Thanks for saying nice things! I hope you are having fun in the Middle Country. xo

  3. Brooklynn says:

    I am SO going to be making this with my leftover holiday turkey. You are, as always, an inspiration!! Happy holidays!!

Leave a Reply

